MedEx form

General discussion and guidelines
MikeB

MedEx form

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 13, 2015 17:54

I'm thinking about applying for a third class medical. Although I'm 75 I've never had any real health problems and only take a very light blood pressure med. I've never been denied and in fact the last time I met with my regular doctor for my annual physical he said " I wish I had your numbers". OK (here's the rub) what happens when I fill out the MedEX form online? Is it submitted to the FAA? Can I fill out the form and then change my mind, etc? I've been flying light sport for several years basically because I didn't need a physical and couldn't see any reason to pay for something I didn't need as I get a routine (non-faa) physical every year anyway. The only reason I'm thinking about the physical is because my soon to be done Chief is slightly over at 1350# and/or I may want to rent a 150 or Cherokee at some time in the future.
Mike

bob turner

Re: MedEx form

Post by bob turner » Fri Mar 13, 2015 22:17

Well, since it is just you and me using this forum . . .

We have an FAA AME who does the entire exam before you hit the button and submit the form. Te last time through I carefully asked them about all this - they even allow you to begin the process after you have passed. But they assured me that you can safely fill in the form, and if you do not pass, nothing actually goes to OKC.

I am like you - peak of health, approaching 3/4 century, and very cautious about the catch- 22 on the light sport medical stuff. Ask your local buddies - selection of an AME is now critical, and they are not all the same!

EDGEFLY

Post by EDGEFLY » Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:02

Bob,
I think your comment on usage of this forum is nearly correct insofar as frequency of usage. I do want to point out that I'm still here lurking but suspect that the Facebook version has perhaps contributed to its' demise.

Dale

hangerash

Post by hangerash » Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:22

Mike - Bob - Dale